



27 October 2023

Hon Nancy Tembo Ministry of Foreign Affairs - Malawi

Dear Madam,

We write to you on behalf of the International Panel of Parliamentarians for Freedom of Religion or Belief (IPPFoRB) and our partner in the African continent, the African Parliamentarians Association for Human Rights (AfriPAHR). We write to you as a global network of parliamentarians from diverse political, religious, and geographical backgrounds committed to promoting and protecting the freedom of religion or belief for all.

On 10 October 2023, the UN General Assembly elected Malawi as one of the 15 new Member States of the Human Rights Council (HRC) for the 2024-2026 term. This appointment reflects the international community's trust in Malawi's commitment to advancing human rights nationally, regionally, and globally. Countries chosen for the Human Rights Council (HRC) are expected to showcase their dedication human rights standards, encompassing their complete cooperation with all United Nations mechanisms.

Your country has been known as one that has worked in upholding the Human Rights of your citizens. Malawi has acted as a pillar for maintaining peace and religious co-existence. We are excited about the vital role you will play globally in advancing human rights, particularly freedom of religion or belief, during your tenure on the Council. We urge you to uphold freedom of religion or belief as part of the human rights framework.

We are aware of the landmark ruling in Zomba in May 2023, when the High Court of Malawi ordered the government to allow Rastafarian students with dreadlocks to enroll in all public schools, a verdict marking the end of a three-year legal battle in which two students sued the





government over its requirement that they cut their hair to promote uniformity in school. We urge Malawi to continue enabling equal access to education for all its citizens and implement public policies that acknowledge that the right to education and freedom of religion or belief are both part of the human rights discourse, being that they are inalienable, indivisible, interdependent, and interrelated.

We request that Malawi consider freedom of religion or belief challenges seriously and take measures to ensure that all its citizens' freedom of religion or belief is upheld and protected. Malawi should actively recognize that the right to freedom of religion or belief protects various religious practices and fundamentally encompasses the rights of individuals who identify with non-religious beliefs or no belief at all, such as atheists and agnostics. By doing so, Malawi can further strengthen its commitment to human rights and contribute positively to the work of the Human Rights Council.

We, the Steering Group of IPPFoRB and the Steering Group of AfriPAHR, are willing to engage in a constructive dialogue on this matter and are open to collaborating with the Malawi authorities to find solutions that respect the rights and freedoms of all Malawi citizens.

Thank you for your attention to this critical matter. We welcome any discussions on improving the freedom of religion or belief in Malawi.

Sincerely,





Upid K.

Abid Raja MP Norway Chair of IPPFoRB Steering Group

Hon Nqabayomzi Kwankwa MP South Africa Vice Chair of IPPFoRB Steering Group Chair of AfriPAHR Steering Group

Julies

**Paulina Andrea Nuñez** MP Chile Member of IPPFoRB Steering Group

SANELA SHERI joy Mun

**Sanela Skrijelj** MP North Macedonia Member of IPPFoRB Steering Group

Kashuu

**Kasthuriraani Patto** Former MP Malaysia Member of IPPFoRB Steering Group





plecer.

## Hon Thembisile Angel Khanyile

MP South Africa Member of AfriPAHR Steering Group

Hon Ephraim Abele Kayembe MP Malawi Member of AfriPAHR Steering Group

Pour

Hon Sanid Suleman Adamu MP Ghana Member of AfriPAHR Steering Group

Hon Halima Daud Alima Former MP Malawi Member of AfriPAHR Steering Group

Hon Mohammed Zuwera Ibrahimah MP Ghana

Member of AfriPAHR Steering Group

**Hon Amadou Camara** MP Gambia Member of AfriPAHR Steering Group





Manada

Hon Musah Fofanah MP Sierra Leone Member of AfriPAHR Steering Group

Hon Nusrat Hanje Shabaan

MP Tanzania Member of AfriPAHR Steering Group

Hon Markus Samuel MP Nigeria Member of AfriPAHR Steering Group